Home > Hackintosh > Dell Inspiron 1545 drivers for Snow Leopard 10.6.2

Dell Inspiron 1545 drivers for Snow Leopard 10.6.2

12 febbraio 2010

As someone requested, here are the drivers needed for Dell Inspiron 1545 notebook, after the update to Snow Leopard 10.6.2
All the drivers are 64 bit compatible.

-Audio: AppleHDA 1.7.9a4, patched for IDT  92HD71B7X. It also enables volume control (FN-keys) and internal MIC.   Download
Install: install with Kext Utility. You need to put the supplied dsdt.aml in your / or /Extra directory.

-Keyboard+Mouse+Trackpad: VoodooPS2Controller, patched for latin keyboards + Alps GlidePoint Trackpad + 2 finger scrolling.  Download (RE-UPLOADED)
Install: delete ApplePS2Controller from /System/Library/Extensions, install AppleACPIPS2Nub (this version, not others) and VoodooPS2Controller with Kext Utility. Put Trackpad.prefpane in /System/Library/PreferencePanes

-Wireless Dell 1397 (Broadcom BCM4312): Latest IO80211Family patched to enable 14e4:4315 devices.   Download
Install: install the Security Update 01-2010 first, then this driver with Kext Utility.

-Graphic Card Intel GMA4500: Get native resolution (1336×768) with Chameleon RC4 + 915 patch by me. (See the previous post for further info).

  1. reggie
    13 febbraio 2010 alle 8:37 pm

    what are the disadvantages of not having QE/CI ?
    i cannot find a clear answer anywhere and I want to be clear before making this my primary os🙂

    • 14 febbraio 2010 alle 9:40 pm

      Without QE/CI no DVD palyback, video will hickup or not play at all. For example vlc player is useless as well as Dvd player app. No 3d games. 3d works in iPhone simulator though. No itunes visualizations, no iphoto, iweb, or iwork suite. You can surf the web, do some programming, download, read. So it won’t be a perfect os. It works well for my iPhone programming though. But I find myself spending more time in windows lately because of QE/CL issue.

  2. 14 febbraio 2010 alle 9:45 pm

    BTW, itunes, mail, photoshop, MS Office, spaces, quick time, garage band, switch, vuze, safari work.
    Google earth, ichat, iMovie, blender don’t.

    • Jimmy
      3 agosto 2010 alle 2:15 am

      hey so garageband works on the dell 1545 and the only things that do not are the ones you listed

  3. pro0of
    23 febbraio 2010 alle 9:39 pm

    thank you

    and this is bluetooth driver

    http://www.mediafire.com/?zyigat2fvbw

    just install and reboot

  4. Ricardo
    9 marzo 2010 alle 9:12 pm

    Btw, can you open a JPEG (or even PNG) photo on Preview? As far as I know, it’s impossible, since on SL the Preview app uses hardware acceleration (if you said “WTF” now, you’re not alone ;D). So SL won’t work even for opening photos on default apps. And also you can’t take screenshots, even from Terminal. That’s weird like hell, but I managed to fix it copying apps binaries from Leopard 10.5.8 to my SL partition. This was a long time ago and now I’m using only Leopard.

    Anyway, could you tell me if your Preview is working? Thanks!🙂

    • deviato
      10 marzo 2010 alle 1:15 pm

      No, preview and grab aren’t working. For grab I solved replacing it with Leopard version, for Preview this was possible for 10.6, but starting from 10.6.2 it doesn’t work anymore.. however I use “space” button to preview, gimp for editing, so I didn’t manage to try an alternative..

      • Ricardo
        10 marzo 2010 alle 7:29 pm

        Actually, I guess I had 10.6.2 with Preview and Grab working. Grab and screencapture I fixed copying the Leopard version.

        Preview needed to be fixed more carefully. You need to copy files from Leopard and then you have to create a symbolic link on a folder to make it work. You can check the missing files using the terminal to open it.

        I have a topic on insanelymac forum (http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=202712) with a mini-howto fix this problem. But I guess I forgot to post the Preview needed link there. I’m gonna install SL 10.6.2 tonight and then I’ll recheck my own steps to see if I missed something.

        I’m gonna post here a comment when I fix it on SL 10.6.2.🙂

  5. Ricardo
    10 marzo 2010 alle 10:05 pm

    Ah, I forgot to say: you don’t actually need a patched grub to get the native resolution. You could use the X3100 framebuffer driver for that. Isn’t SO stable, but works. The only problem is that it only works on 32bit mode, which is not a big problem, I guess, since I could run 64bit applications without any problem.🙂

    • deviato
      11 marzo 2010 alle 12:57 am

      Hi Ricardo, thank you in advance, I’m waiting for your info regarding preview, I’m a bit lazy to test leopard versions..
      However, in my case, the X3100 framebuffer solution didn’t work, also in 32bit mode. All I got was a white or black screen, and had to remove the kext manually booting in safe mode. I’ll hope for a native driver..

      • Ricardo
        11 marzo 2010 alle 12:59 am

        Sure, I’ll give you all the info you need as soon as my SL boots (kernel panic :P). Btw, about the black/white screen, did you tried putting the DSDT file provided with the driver?

      • Ricardo
        11 marzo 2010 alle 2:45 am

        Ok, forget anything I told you about the X3100 framebuffer driver. Your patch is AMAZING! It works insanely nice here! Now that I understand (or not) how it works, it looks so simple!

        And I got Preview working again. Of course, your idea of pressing space bar is nice (I didn’t know about that), but Preview is an useful tool sometimes!🙂

        Anyway, I updated the forum page with a symbolic link that was missing. Could you try that?🙂

        Btw, your drivers are perfect! Thanks a lot!😀

      • deviato
        12 marzo 2010 alle 4:06 pm

        Well done!
        I read your post, tried.. and now preview is working again.
        Thank you!

  6. Ricardo
    12 marzo 2010 alle 5:38 pm

    deviato :
    Well done!
    I read your post, tried.. and now preview is working again.
    Thank you!

    Sure, np.🙂

    I first tried using your VoodooPS2Controller with your Keyboard driver patched. My “/” didn’t work (I’m using a brazilian keyboard model). So I found that the key code was being sent, but not decoded (or something like that) on keylayout. So I fixed and now I have everything working on my keyboard, including media keys! Thank you!

    Btw, do you if it’s possible to use a second monitor on this laptop using your patch for video? Using the X3100 modded driver it was possible, but the driver itself wasn’t stable enough for me.

    • deviato
      12 marzo 2010 alle 7:58 pm

      I tried switching to the external monitor with Fn+F1 and it works.
      The only problem is when the second monitor doesn’t support the same resolution as the primary. In this case you should set a resolution for the second monitor, and boot directly with it, or don’t specify any resolution in boot.plist, switch with Fn+F1 as soon as you turn on the notebook, so the patch will read the EDID from the second monitor instead of the main.

  7. Ricardo
    12 marzo 2010 alle 8:06 pm

    Hmmm understood. In my case, the secondary monitor sometimes can be my 22″ desktop monitor and sometimes can be a projector, which is a problem in this case.

    Do you think it’s possible to edit the patch to make it detect multiple resolutions? For example, 1366×768 and 1280×1024? So the secondary monitor could use 1280×1024 and the primary uses 1366×768, for example. If yes, do you think it’s too complicated?

  8. Ricardo
    13 marzo 2010 alle 3:07 am

    Btw, I almost forgot to ask, but did you got Sleep (or Hibernate) working? If yes, how? Which kexts, which versions?

  9. acerimmer
    15 marzo 2010 alle 5:02 pm

    Deviato:

    Grazie grazie grazie! I was prepared to forget about OSX86 if I couldn’t get native resolution on my Dell 1545, GMA4500. You made it SO easy!

    For some reason, though, the trackpad fix doesn’t seem to work for me. I’ve done it twice and both times the Preference Pane message was “waiting for you to connect a device”.

  10. kenneth
    28 marzo 2010 alle 10:39 pm

    hey Deviato
    so umm
    i have been looking every where how to install chameleon rc4
    no luck
    can u tell me a detailed way
    no body seems to give good instructions
    and also how to get the resolution after u downloaded it?
    thanks

  11. mike
    27 aprile 2010 alle 6:39 am

    hey Deviato,
    everything works great😀
    apart from the audio kext and the dsdt, when i install them and reboot the screen goes blue (like normal) and then the screen will go blank? :O the os is still working because i can tab volume up and down, but i just cant see anything?😦

    thanks in advance😀

  12. Austin
    9 maggio 2010 alle 9:29 pm

    Hello, I have the Inspiron 1545 with the GMA x4500 card and 3Gb RAM. I have installed Leopard from the iDeneb 10.5.6 disc, and am currently dual booting with Windows 7. I have the DVD for Hazard’s Snow update, burned with slowest speed, and it errors on me. I get to set up the install but when I actually let it begin to install it quits and returns the error “Snow Leopard can not be installed on your system because no software can be found to install.” What is going on? Bad burn of ISO file? How’d you get Snow installed?

  13. Stu
    23 giugno 2010 alle 9:49 am

    Hi please can you re-upload “VoodooPS2+Trackpad.zip (13.29 MB)” for me please?

  14. Stu
    23 giugno 2010 alle 6:48 pm

    …or suggest a way of me getting the touchpad working on a Dell 1545?

    I have 10.6.4 installed, Chameleon RC4, and have tried both Voodoo PS2 kext and Apple PS2 kext. Thanks

  15. Sta
    30 giugno 2010 alle 8:39 pm

    Hi, yes, please reupload ps2 controller kext file – it is not available anymore.

  16. KK
    5 luglio 2010 alle 6:33 am

    Hello, Thanks for the post. I tried to download Keyboard+Mouse+Trackpad driver for my dell inspiron 1545. But the download file does not exist in the radidshare. Would you please provide us an alternate download link.

    Thank you.

  17. Mimrah
    1 agosto 2010 alle 4:59 pm

    I AM SO THANKFUL TO YOU🙂 BLESS YA!

  18. NS
    12 agosto 2010 alle 1:20 am

    Hi,

    Please upload your “VoodooPS2+Trackpad.zip (13.29 MB)”. We need it bad. I could not make my AlPS trackpad works in HP Pavillion DM3 1023xt.

    Thanks.

    NS

  19. NS
    12 agosto 2010 alle 1:23 am
  20. jazzzzz
    7 febbraio 2011 alle 1:52 pm

    plzzzzz wrte a completely working driver for atheros ar5007 wifi…..plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    am beggingggggg

  21. Ricardo
    7 marzo 2011 alle 10:41 pm

    A note: trackpad won’t load in 32bits mode. The VoodooPS2Trackpad.kext (used by VoodooPS2Controller.kext) has no 32bit code on it.

  22. Ricardo
    21 marzo 2011 alle 12:21 pm

    Deviato, do you mind releasing the VoodooPS2 source? I’m gonna test some patchs.

  23. 22 aprile 2012 alle 9:30 pm

    Can you guys upload again all the files, because they are not avaible anymore. Thanks in advance!🙂

  1. 1 gennaio 2011 alle 2:34 am
  2. 8 ottobre 2012 alle 9:52 pm
I commenti sono chiusi.
